Watch Live Matches

Didier Drogba, Eto'o named in shortlist for 2013 Golden Foot award - Gyan excluded

Published on: 22 April 2013

Didier Drogba and Samuel Eto’o figure on the list of nominees for the 2013 Golden Foot award but Ghana captain Asamoah Gyan was not included despite his heroics in the UAE.

The duo were in the shortlist to succeed Paris Saint Germain’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic, who won it last year.

The Ivory Coast and Cameroon captains are the only African candidates in the lot of nine players vying for the international football award, given to players who stand out for their athletic achievements and for their personality.

The other nominees are Frenchman David Trezeguet, German Miroslav Klose, Italy international Andrea Pirlo, Spaniards Andres Iniesta and Iker Casillas, and English footballers Franck Lampard and David Beckham.

The Golden Foot is awarded to active players of at least 29 years of age and cannot be won more than once.

The eventual winner leaves a permanent mould of his footprints on The Champions Promenade, on the seafront of the Principality of Monaco.

Past winners: 2003: Roberto Baggio (Italy, Brescia) 2004: Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic, Juventus) 2005: Andryi Shevchenko (Ukraine, AC Milan) 2006: Ronaldo (Brazil, Real Madrid) 2007: Alessandro Del Piero (Italy, Juventus) 2008: Roberto Carlos da Silva (Brazil, Fenerbahçe) 2009: Ronaldinho (Brazil, AC Milan) 2010: Francesco Totti (Italy, Roma) 2011: Ryan Giggs (Wales, Manchester United) 2012: Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden, Paris SG)


  • Adam....(Ghana) says:
    April 22, 2013 09:51 am
    why wouldn't he be excluded? when a player of massive talent fews years ago be declined significantly prior to the unrecognised lower league in uae all in the name of "money reaping" will never be an immotional touch to my heart even if his name would be erased from a fifa's list regardlees of his fact he is now no where nearer to these calibre of players listed..Asmoah would be the most worst player in the world in no time if he does not revert his decision on playing in uae and come back quickly to europe again..i would say for now it serves him right for playing in a league weaker than Kenyan league..He was even given an award in uae for being the most best player just last week but you see it actually became no news b'cos no one was interested in hearing that..GSN such is the player you people are advertising would have been better you had mentioned some names like Andre Ayew, Rabiu, Wakaso, KASA, Waris and even Michael Essien.Even with exception of only Essien all those players i mentioned do not qualify not to talk about Gyan
  • Kc says:
    April 22, 2013 08:13 am
    Hahahaha.... Ghanaians are nothing but timid senseless apes. Asamoah wetin? Asamoah Gay. That ugly fool Gaynian can only win Gay man award in Gayna.
  • Pleisus Centurion says:
    April 22, 2013 07:51 am
    Some of guys talk too much. @Kk, when you went through that list, did you actually see two Ronaldos? muff muff Massa, shine your eyes; Ronaldo is not Ronaldinho. #word! @Ezekiel, well said, but maybe an MRI scan indicates that Gyan is over 29yrs...hehehehe!
  • Ezekiel Obiba says:
    April 22, 2013 07:41 am
    Sumtyms I dnt no wat is wrong wit Ghsoccernet hw can a 27yr playa been added 2 sumtin which is meant 4 29yrs n above playas n dey did not even mention a beta playa 4rm Gh Asamoah Gyan apuuu.
  • Maxwell Johnson says:
    April 22, 2013 07:44 am
    He was excluded cuz he doesn't deserve to be in the list simple as that, in fact GSN are bunch of twerps!! How can you advocate for mediocre Gyan who plays in a sub-standard U.A.E league to be included in the list for this prestigious award. Just look at the names of the nominees and the clubs that they play for and see if Gyan can be compared with any of them. Crap! Even if he scores 1000 goals in that league it wont be recognize cuz its useless!! Am now beginning to believe GSN are on the payroll of Gyan, you guys are gradually loosing your credibility.
  • troy says:
    April 22, 2013 07:30 am
    Hahhaha I laughed when I read "But asamoah gyan was not included" and please which heroics? The joke of the day definitely.
  • Kk says:
    April 22, 2013 06:55 am
    You people are saying this awards could not be won more than once but Ronaldo wind it twice with Madrid and Millan.always making errors.
  • Awal says:
    April 22, 2013 06:55 am
    Ghana always crying about something...ehhhh!!