Watch Live Matches

Ghana trio named for Wafu award

Published on: 22 March 2010

Ghana trio Michael Essien, Sulley Muntari and Andre Ayew are among sixteen players selected for the maiden West Africa Football Union Award.

The list includes Ivorians-Kader Keita, Yaya Toure and Didier Drogba, Nigeria duo -Yakubu Ayiegbeni and John Obi Mikel, Jonathan Pitroipa and Moumouni Dagano-Burkina Faso and Malian duo; Frederic Kanoute and Seydou Keita.

The rest are Stephane Sessegnon -Benin, Emmanuel Adebayor -Togo, Mamadou Niang -Senegal and Pascal Feindouno-Guinea.

The list will be pruned down to four for the final phase of nomination process.

Unlike other awards, neither coaches nor journalists will be involved in the selection process, rather the public will vote for their choice by phone or SMS.

The winner will be named in May this year.


This article has 0 comment(s), give your comment