Watch Live Matches

Government, Ghana FA call conference to seek solutions to football challenges

Published on: Jul 10, 2014 at 7:53pm
Ghana FA and government are seeking for solutions

Government has invited about sixty Eminent Football Administrators to review the country's football and advice on a national strategy for the sport in the country in the wake of the Black Stars' disastrous showing at the World Cup.

The initiative is a collaboration between the Ministry of Youth and Sports and the Ghana Football Association.

The Eminent Football Administrators will reflect on developments in the area of competitive football and fashion out a national response strategy.

This could be seen as major step in reviewing the Black Stars poor showing at the 2014 World Cup tournament in Brazil which led to a first round exit.

The conduct of the members of the team and the managers attracted negative media attention globally.

President John Dramani Mahama subsequently constituted a three-member Committee to review Ghana’s participation and the shameful exit from the tournament in Brazil.

The ministry in a release on Thursday indicated: "This Group of Eminent Football Administrators is made up of personalities with acclaimed experience in both the field of play and football management and administration in Ghana and abroad".

They will be participating in a two-day retreat scheduled for Friday 11 and Saturday 12 July, 2014 at the Premier Best Western Hotel in the Airport Residential Area of Accra.

The full list of the eminent administrators is published below: Mr. Ato Ahwoi, Nana Sam Brew Butler, M.N.D.Jawula, Ade Coker, Welbeck Abra Appiah, Joe Aggrey, Prof. Joshua Alabi, Alhaji Aliu Raji, J.Y. Appiah, Commodore Mensah, Harry Zakour, Alhaji Said Sinare, Abbey Pobee, Mr. Joe Kpenge, Dr. K.K. Sarpong, Oheneba Charles, Kwabena Yeboah, Christian Abbew, George Amoako, Sir Sam Jonah, Karl Tuffour, Ackah Anthony.

The rest are Awuah Nyamekye, Randy Abbey, Kwame Baah-Nuakoh, Ben Kwofie, Jones Abu Allassan, Ex-Referee L.O. Laryea, Owuahene Acheampong, C.K. Akonnor, Abedi Ayew Pele, Dr. Nyaho Tamakloe, Odotei Sowah, Tony Yeboah, Mike Mensah Bonsu, Alhaji Grusah, Ibrahim Sunday, Rev. Osei Kofi, Sam Arday, Stephen Appiah, Kurt Okraku, Mr. Rex Danquah, Prof. Kofi Kumado, Antwi Gyamfi, Maj. Yaw Larson, Hon. Osafo Maafo, Hon. Papa Owusu Ankomah, Hon Rashid Pelpuo, Hon. E. T. Mensah, Hon. AkuaSena Dansoa, Hon. Elvis Afriyie-Ankrah, Hon. Clement Humado, Hon. Rashid Bawa, Hon. Mohammed M. Mubarak, Hon. Dominic Fobih, Hon. Amarkai Amarteifio.

Do you think all the key people have been called? Which other names do you want invited for the event? Do you think the event is necessary? Make your views known in the box below


This article has 17 comment(s), give your comment