Watch Live Matches

Kotoko to dominate MTN FA Cup Awards ceremony tonight

Published on: 09 August 2014
During the 1st Capital Plus Premier League Finals Coronation ©Christian Thompson/BackpagePix

Champions Kumasi Asante Kotoko are tipped to dominate the fourth edition of the MTN FA Cup Awards ceremony tonight at the Banquet Hall of the State House.

The club’s duo Abeiku Ainooson and Issah Yakubu have been shortlisted for the Best Player of the Year award.

But they face stiff opposition from Bechem United’s Augustine Okrah who has joined Swedish side BK Hacken and Elvis Opoku of Gold Stars.

Kotoko will pick up the award as the Highest Scoring Club and Elvis Opoku who scored seven goals awarded Top Scorer of the Year.

Opoku could grab his second award in the Discovery of the Year category, where he faces stern competition from Inter Allies’ Patrick Kpozo, Benjamin Tetteh (Mighty Jets) and Lassana Coulibaly (Feyenoord FC).

Other award categories include: Defender of the Year, where Abeiku Ainooson (Asante Kotoko), Joseph Aidoo (Inter Allies), Lassana Coulibally (Feyenoord FC) and Emmanuel Akuoko (Aduana Stars) will do battle.

Kotoko coach Mas-Ud Didi Dramani, and former Inter Allies tactician, Herbert Addo, vie for the Coach of the Year prize, alongside Feyenoord's John Kila and Prince Acheampong of King Faisal.

Goalkeeper of the Year award will be contested for by Osei Kwame (Inter Allies), Joseph Addo (Kotoko), Benjamin Mensah (New Edubiase United) and Theophilus Jackson (Feyenoord FC).

Outstanding match officials in this year's interesting contest will not be left out as centre referees — Seidu Bomison, Daniel Laryea and Patrick Kyeremanteng — join assistant referees, Ibrahim Adam, Dawood Ouadrago and Ashitey Armah to contest for the Referee of the Year and Assistant Referee of the Year awards respectively.

A total of 13 awards are expected to be handed out on the night.


This article has 0 comment(s), give your comment