Ghana's No. 1

2019 Africa Cup of Nations: FIVE Debutants in Ghana’s squad ahead of AFCON

Published on: 10 June 2019
2019 Africa Cup of Nations: FIVE Debutants in Ghana’s squad ahead of AFCON
Caleb Ekuban

Ghana coach Kwesi Appiah has named five debutantes in his final 23-man squad for the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

The four-time champions are seeking to end their 37-year wait for continental success, having won their last title in 1982.

Kwesi Appiah's side have come close to ending their drought at the last six tournaments, having reached the semi-finals, and even going as far as the final in 2010 and 2015.

The former Al Khartoum Watani gaffer made it clear in the wake of the qualifiers that he will hand call-ups to any Ghanaian player who is performing at club level.

True to his words, coach Appiah has named five debutants in his 29-man provisional squad ahead of the tournament.

In-form NK Cukaricki midfielder Samuel Owusu, Kwabena Owusu of CD Leganes and Asante Kotoko’s safest pair of hands Felix Annan.

Second batch of players who found their names on the debutant list are Joseph Aidoo of KRC Genk and Leeds United frontman Caleb Ekuban.

Ghana have been drawn in Group F alongside Cameroon, Guinea Bissau and Benin.

Check the final squad list below;

Goalkeepers: Richard Ofori (Maritzburg United, South Africa, Lawrence Ati- Zigi (Sochaux, Montbeliard, France), and Felix Annan (Asante Kotoko, Ghana).


Andy Yiadom (Reading, England), Abdul Baba Rahman (Reims, France), Lumor Agbenyenu (Goztepe A.S, Turkey), Kassim Nuhu, (Hoffeinham, Germany,) John Boye ( Metz France), Jonathan Mensah (Columbus Crew SC, USA), Joseph Aidoo (Genk, Belguim), Joseph Attamah (Basaksehir, Turkey)


Mubarak Wakaso (Deportivo Alaves, Spain), Thomas Partey (Atletico Madrid, Spain), Kwadwo Asamoah (Internazionle, Italy), Afriyie Acquah (Empoli, Italy), Andre Ayew ( Fenerbache, Turkey), Christian Atsu (Newcastle United, England), Samuel Owusu (Cukaricki, Serbia), Thomas Agyepong (Hibernian, Scotland)


Asamoah Gyan (Kayserispor, Turkey), Jordan Ayew (Crystal Palace, England), Caleb Ekuban (Trabzonspor, Turkey and Kwabena Owusu (Leganes, Spain).

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.
Learn more