Ghana's No. 1

African Zone World Cup Qualifying Groups

Published on: 24 June 2016

The draw for the African zone of qualifying for the 2018 World Cup was staged by the Confederation of African Football (CAF) at Marriot Hotel in Cairo, Egypt on Friday.

This stage of the preliminary competition will involve 20 teams drawn into five four-team groups, with sides playing each other home and away on a round-robin basis. All five group winners will qualify automatically for Russia 2018.

The ‘group of death’ is certainly Group B which consists of Zambia, Cameroon, Algeria and Nigeria.

One of the easier groups is Group A which consists of Tunisa, Libya, Congo DR and Guinea.

The Elephants of Cote d’Ivoire will be happy with their Group C which consists of themselves, Gabon, Mali and Morocco.

South Africa also find themselves in a tough group with their Group D consisting of Senegal, Burkina Faso and Cape Verde.

Ghana and Egypt will probably be fighting for top honours in Group E which also consists of Uganda and Congo.

The groups are below with the teams in their exact position:

Group A

1. Tunisia 2. Libya 3. Congo DR 4. Guinea

Group B

1. Zambia 2. Cameroon 3. Algeria 4. Nigeria

Group C

1. Gabon 2. Mali 3. Cote d’Ivoire 4. Morocco

Group D:

1. Senegal 2. South Africa 3. Burkina Faso 4. Cape Verde

Group E:

1. Ghana 2. Egypt 3. Congo 4. Uganda


This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.
Learn more