Denis Onyango Saves Incredible Five Penalty Kicks to Help Mamelodi Sundowns Clinch the mtn8 Title.

Sona Balakhchyan
Mamelodi Sundowns goalkeeper Denis Onyango saved an astonishing five penalty kicks in a single match to help his side edge past Cape Town City to clinch the MTN 8 Cup.

The experienced 36-year-old becomes the second goalkeeper in the world to save five penalties in the exact match to follow in the footsteps of German goalkeeper Daniel Batz – who became the first goalkeeper to keep five penalties in the same game in 2020.

Batz, who plays for German lower-tier side FC Saarbrücken, saved a penalty during the 90 minutes against Fortuna Dusseldorf and saved another 4 in the shootout of the DFB-Pokal Cup.

Onyango, a former Uganda international, etched his name in his history books after stopping five spot-kicks as Sundowns clinched the title, winning 3-2 on penalties following 1-1 draw in extra time at the Moses Mabhida Stadium in Durban.

The Ugandan shot-stopper saved five penalties from Khanyisa Mayo, Fagrie Lakay, Abdul Ajagun, Tariq Fielies, and Thamsanqa Mkhize.

Onyango saved Thamsanga Mkhize’s spot-kick lottery decider after Namibian Peter Shalulile scored to put the Pretoria-based Sundowns ahead in the shootout.

“My instincts helped a lot in the shootout,” said captain Onyango after being voted man of the match. “I always thought we would win this final.

“We struggled at times against the aggression of Cape Town but never allowed our heads to drop. It was resilience that won the trophy for us in the end.”

Only two thousand spectators fully vaccinated against Covid-19 were allowed to attend the match as South African authorities took steps to ease restrictions.

Sundowns last won the MTN8 Cup in 2017 – four years before shot-stopper Denis Onyango joined the Brazilians following spells at Supersport United and Mpumalanga Black Aces.

The South African giants have won 12 domestic titles and two Confederation Cup crowns, but the closest they came to another MTN8 title was finishing as runners-up until their recent triumph.

The competition involves the top 8 team finishers in the PSL and offers a winner-take-all prize of R8 million.

Still have questions? Ask our experts!
Follow this expert
Follow this author

You've successfully followed this author. You'll get notifications of his new tips on your registered e-mail.

You've successfully followed this expert. You'll get notifications of his new tips on your registered e-mail.

Follow this author
Follow this expert

This means that you will no longer receive notifications about new posts by this author to your e-mail address.

You will no longer be notified of this expert's new tips.

The website you are trying to access is not one of our trusted partners.
You will be forwarded to the website
Visit site