Ghana Latest Football News, Live Scores, Results - GHANAsoccernet

Ghana's No. 1

Ghana's AFCON opponents Guinea name key players in squad

Published on: 29 December 2011

Guinea coach Michel Dussuyer has named a 26-man preliminary squad for the 2012 Africa Cup Nations dominated by Europe-based players. 

Ex-France youth international Razzagui Abdoul Camara was included in the squad even though his nationality switch is yet to be approved.

Three home-based players were included in the Frenchman's team for the tournament in Gabon and Equatorial Guinea

Djoliba defender Ibrahima Sory Bangoura is only outfield home-based player in the team.

Sylli National's key players Pascal Feindouno, Kevin Constant, Kamil Zayatte, Bobo Balde and Oumar Kalabane were all named in the squad.

The 21-year-old Camara, who plays for French top-flight side Sochaux, wants to switch allegiance to enable him play for the country of his parents.

Fifa are yet to approve his application but he was included in coach Dussuyer's squad.

However, two other former France youth internationals Larsen Toure and Richard Soumah  were not selected even though they has indicated their desire to play for the Sylli National.

Guinea will start their cmaping in Conakry on 2 January before travelling to Abidjan a week later for a seven-day training camp.

The Sylli National will be based at the academy of Asec Mimosas during their stay in the Ivory Coast.

The squad will be whittled down to 23 before they travel for the Nations Cup.

Guinea are planning to line-up a friendly in Conakry on 18 January after Sudan withdrew from a friendly the two countries arranged last month.

They will then travel to Franceville where they will face Mali, Botswana and Ghana in Group D of the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations.


Goalkeepers: Aboubacar Camara, Abdoul Aziz Keita, Naby Yattara (AC Arles, France)

Defenders: Thierno Bah (FC Lausanne, Switzerland) Dian Bobo Balde (AC Arles Avignon, France), Ibrahima Sory Bangoura (AC Djoliba, Mali), Lanfia Camara (FC WAS Woluwe, Belgium), Morlaye Cissé (EGS Gafsa, Tunisia) Boubacar Diallo (Spartak Trnava, Slovakia), Ibrahima Diallo (Waasland Beveren, Belgium), Kamil Zayatte (Buyuksehir, Turkey), Oumar Kalabane (Al-Dhafra, United Arab Emirates)

Midfielders: Mamadou Bah Dioulde (VfB Stuttgart, Germany), Habib Jean Balde (FC Universitatea Cluj, Romania), Sadio Diallo (SC Bastia, France), Pascal Feindouno (FC Sion, Switzerland), Kevin Constant (Genoa, Italy) , Naby Soumah (CS Sfaxien, Tunisia)

Forwards: Ismael Bangoura (Al-Nasr in Dubai, United Arab Emirates), Alhassane Bangoura (Rayo Vallecano, Spain), Ibrahima Conte (Gent, Belgium), Ibrahima Traoré, (VfB Stuttgart, Germany), Ibrahima Yattara (Al-Shabab Saudi Arabia), Karamoko Cisse (Albinoleffe, Italy), Abdoul Camara Razzagui (FC Sochaux, France), Ousmane Barry (ES Sahel, Tunisia).


This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.
Learn more