Ghana's No. 1

Nania FC trio named in Ghana's pre-All Africa Games squad

Published on: 29 July 2011

Ghana Under-23 coach Akwasi Appiah has named three Nania FC players in his preliminary 30-man squad for this year's All Africa Games, can exclusively reveal.

Captain Lawrence Lartey, shot-stopper Goalkeeper Michael Sai and Prince Baffoe, who were influential for the second-tier side in their historic MTN FA Cup triumph caught the eyes of the national handlers.

The trio will join the rest of the squad expected to begin camping on 1 August in Accra.

Egypt-based Samuel Afum is the only foreign-based player named in the provisional squad.

Left-back Seth Owusu, a returnee from Major League Soccer side Chivas, has been called up with the unavailability of regulars Samuel Inkoom, David Addy and Daniel Opare.

Accra Hearts of Oak duo of Mahatma Otoo and Uriah Asante has also been invited.

Last season's bronze shoe winner Nathaniel Asamoah of Asante Kotoko has also been included after netting 14 goals.

Ghana are in Group B alongside defending champions Cameroon, Senegal and Uganda at the multi-sport Games which runs from 3-18 September in Maputo.

The Black Meteors failed to progress from the Group stage at the last edition in Algeria four years ago.

Ghana squad

Goalkeepers: Daniel Agyei (Liberty Professionals), Joseph Addo (Heart of Lions) Collins Addo (New Edubiase United) Michael Sai (Nania FC)

Defenders: Augustine Sefa (Medeama) Mohammed Sabato (Asante Kotoko) Seth Owusu (Medeama SC) Kwabena Twumasi (Liberty Professionals), Edward Kpodo, Ahmed Adams (Berekum Chelsea), Rashid Sumaila (Ebusua Dwarfs), Lawrence Lartey (Nania FC).

Midfielders: Edwin Gyimah (Wa All Stars) Malik Akowuah (AshantiGold) Mumuni Abubakar (New Edubiase) Richard Mpong (Medeama SC) Alhaji Sanie (AshantiGold) Prince Baffoe(Nania FC), Frank Sarfo Gyamfi (Wa All Stars), Francis Morton (Liberty Professionals), Latif Salifu (Liberty) Uriah Asante (Hearts of Oak) Ibrahim Moro (New Edubiase) Gladson Awako (Berekum Chelsea)

Forwards: Samuel Afum (FC Smouha) Ben Acheampong (Yegola FC) Nathaniel Asamoah (Asante Kotoko) Mahatma Otoo (Accra Hearts of Oak) Nurudeen Ali (Aduana Stars), Bismark Idan (Berekum Chelsea)

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.
Learn more