Ghana's No. 1

New Edubiase's Abubakari wins SWAG premiership player of the year

Published on: 03 July 2011

Midfielder Mumuni Abubakari has been named as the 2010 Premier League Player of the Year at the annual Sports Writers Association of Ghana awards night.

The New Edubiase player fended off competition from strikers Ahmed Toure of Asante Kotoko and Berekum Chelsea's Emmanuel Clottey to emerge winner in a colourful ceremony held at the Banquet Hall of the State House.

Abubakari, a defensive midfielder, played in each and every game for New Edubiase in the season under review without receiving a single red card.

His unblemished disciplinary record and performance on and off the field of play is believed to have won him the award ahead of the others.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.
Learn more