Ghana's No. 1

Nyantakyi elected Wafu Zone B President

Published on: 13 August 2011

By Ameenu Shardow

Ghana's Kwasi Nyantakyi has by general consensus been elected to head Zone B of the new West African Football Union on Saturday.

This decision was made at an Extra-Ordinary Congress hosted by Ghana and was also to fashion out statues to govern the two separate zones.

The division is in accordance with a Caf Executive Committee directive passed in May to have the old WAFU transformed into two sub-regional bodies.

While Zone A consists nine members; Guinea Bissau, Mali, Guinea, Senegal, Cape Verde, Liberia, Sierra Leone, Gambia and Mauritania, Zone B inhibits  seven members; Ghana, Cote D'Ivoire, Nigeria, Benin, Togo, Niger and Burkina Faso.

As a result all federation presidents will serve as executive members in their respective Zones. However each Zone will have a President and three vices.

Senegal's Augustine Senghor was elected the President of Zone A with Jose Lobato (Guinea Bissau), Musa Hassan Bility (Liberia) and Hamadun Cisse Kolado (Mali) serving as the 1st, 2nd and 3rd vice president's respectively.

Zone B has Ghana's Kwasi Nyantakyi as President with Theodore Sawadogo (Burkina Faso), Aminu Maigari (Nigeria) and Col. Himan Djibrilla of Niger serving as the 1st, 2nd and 3rd vice president's respectively.

Banjul, Gambia and Abidjan, Cote d'Ivoire has been chosen as headquarters of Zone A and Zone B secretariates respectively.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.
Learn more