Ghana's No. 1

Schulpp, Takyi handed Black Stars calls to face Gabon

Published on: 07 November 2011

Ghana have handed debut calls to former Germany youth internationals Charles Takyi and Jeffrey Schulpp for the friendlies against Gabon and Sierra Leone this week.

South Korea-based striker Derek Asamoah returns to the squad after a three-year absence while Marseille winger Andre Ayew returns after missing the last two matches.

Turkish second division striker Dominic Adiyiah has been axed while captain John Mensah has been excluded from the squad because of injury.

Goalkeeper Richard Kingson still has no place in the squad which could spell his doom for the Africa Cup of Nations.

Coach Goran Stevanovic calling of Takyi was not surprising as he secured his nationality switch from Germany last month.

But the inclusion of 18-year-old Schulpp comes as a massive surprise as he has been noted down by many as a Germany youth international.

This means he must secure a nationality switch before he is able to play for Ghana if he has played a competitive game for Germany’s youth side.

If that is the case he will not be able to play in the friendly against Gabon or Sierra Leone.

The players will get their last chance of impressing the coach as he is likely to name his squad for the Africa Cup of Nations based on the performances from the two matches.

Ghana squad

Goalkeepers: Adam Larsen Kwarasey (Stromgodest), Ernest Sowah (Berekum Chelsea) Daniel Agyei (Liberty Professionals)

Defenders: Massawudu Alhassan (FC Genoa) John Paintsil (Leicester City), Isaac Vorsah (TSG Hoffenheim), Lee Addy (Red Star Belgrade), Daniel Opare (Standard Liege), Sumaila Rashid (Ebusua Dwarfs)

Midfielders: Samuel Inkoom (FC Dnipro), Kwadwo Asamoah, Emmanuel Agyeman-Badu (Udinese), Sulley Muntari (Inter Milan) Anthony Annan (Vitesse Arnhem), Charles Takyi (St Pauli), Abu Mohammed (Stromgodest), Derek Boateng (FC Dnipro) Quincy Owusu-Abeyie (Panathinaikos FC) Andre Ayew (Olympique Marseille)

Strikers: Asamoah Gyan (Al Ain), Prince Tagoe (Bursaspor) Derek Asamoah (Pohang Steelers) Jeffrey Schulpp (Leicester City).


This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.
Learn more