Sethu FC overcome Manipur Police to lift Indian Women’s League Trophy

Published on: 23 May 2019

Ludhiana: Sethu FC defeated Manipur Police SC 3-1 in the final to win their first ever Indian Women's League at the Guru Nanak Stadium on Wednesday. 

The final, which had some of India’s finest players in action, didn’t disappoint the brimming crowd. 

The Madurai based team trailed 1-0 in the first half but struck back with three goals in the second half to clinch the third edition of the Indian Women's League.

The two teams weren't ready to concede an inch in the first half, which almost resulted in the first half going goalless.

However, Radharani Devi handed Manipur Police the advantage just a minute before the halftime.

An own goal by Umapati Devi in the 56th minute, however, brought Sethu FC back into the game. Nepalese import Sabitra Bhandari then scored a brace within 10 minutes to run away with the contest for Sethu FC. Bhandari finished the league with 15 goals from seven games apart from winning the Player of the Final award.

The league was a major success with quality football being played over two and a half weeks.

The third edition of the league also proved to be the biggest. The tournament that had begun with six teams in the first season in 2016 expanded to 12 teams for the 2019 edition and saw intense competition over 31 matches.

Photo: All India Football Federation