Ghana's No. 1

Five facts on the Africa Cup of Nations

Published on: 11 November 2014
Five facts on the Africa Cup of Nations
2015 Africa Cup of Nations.

Five facts on the Africa Cup of Nations which has been thrown into doubt by Morocco's new demand for the event in January to be postponed because of the Ebola epidemic:

-- The Africa Cup of Nations is the continent's biggest sporting event. It was first held in 1957 with just three countries taking part but since 1968 has been held every two years.

-- Sixteen teams were due to start the tournament in Morocco on January 17 with the final on February 8. Preparations have been overshadowed by the Ebola virus which has killed nearly 5,000 people in West Africa.

-- Morocco, which previously hosted the tournament in 1988, was to hold matches in four cities: Rabat, Marrakesh, Agadir and Tangier. The 16 competing countries were to be drawn into four groups on November 26.

-- The Confederation of African Football will now meet on Tuesday to decide whether to move to an alternative country. It had previously insisted that it would not change the dates. Seven countries have reportedly been approached to stand in. South Africa and Ghana have already said they will not host the 2015 event.

-- Qualifying for the 2015 finals is not yet over. Only Guinea from the three countries worst hit by Ebola are likely to be among the 16 teams.

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.
Learn more