Ghana's No. 1

Yartey, Alhassan axed from Ghana's final squad - Adiyiah makes cut

Published on: 26 May 2012

Two foreign-based players Ishmael Yartey and Masahudu Alhassan are among the six players dropped from Ghana's final squad for June's World Cup qualifiers.

Coach Kwesi Appiah also axed goalkeeper Robert Dabuo of Wa All Stars, Dwarfs defender Rashid Sumaila and Berekum Chelsea's Solomon Asante.

Ghana league top-scorer Emmanuel Baffour was also left out following the Black Stars’ six-day training session.

Yartey looks to have been dropped because of the presence of top players like Sulley Muntari and Kwadwo Asamoah who also play in the left wing position while youngster Christian Atsu has been in explosive form.

Asante's eligibility uncertainty looks to have led to his exclusion despite his good form in training.

Alhassan, who got the chance at the Nations Cup, was overshadowed by Berekum Chelsea's Richard Kissi in training.

In all there are six locally-based players in the party of 24 - including three from African Champions League contenders Berekum Chelsea.

Berekum's Emmanuel Clottey is the top scorer in the club competition so far this year, with his six goals helping his side reach the last eight.

Under-20 World Cup star Dominic Adiyiah, who missed out on selection for the 2012 Africa Cup of Nations, returns to the party to lead the attack along with Jordan Ayew.

Adiyiah's form in training has been excellent and he could be partnered upfront with Emmanuel Clottey who is also looking sharp.

Ghana tackle Lesotho in Kumasi on 1 June, for what will be Appiah's first match in charge.

They then tackle Africa Cup of Nations winners Zambia in Ndola eight days later.

Ghana Squad

Goalkeepers: Adam Kwarasey (Stromsgodset, Norway), Daniel Adjei (Liberty Professionals), Ernest Sowah (Berekum Chelsea)

Defenders: Samuel Inkoom (Dnipro, Ukraine), Daniel Opare (Standard Liege, Belgium), Harrison Afful (Esperance, Tunisia), Richard Kissi Boateng (Berekum Chelsea), John Boye (Rennes, France), Lee Addy (Dalian Aerbin, China), Daniel Addo (Zorya Luhansk, Ukraine) Jerry Akaminko (Manisaspor, Turkey), Isaac Vorsah (Hoffenheim, Germany).

Midfielders: Anthony Annan (Vitesse Arnhem, Netherlands), Derek Boateng (Dnipro, Ukraine), Emmanuel Agyemang Badu (Udinese, Italy), Rabiu Mohammed (Evian, France), Richard Mpong (Medema) Christian Atsu (Rio Ave, Portugal), Sulley Muntari (AC Milan, Italy), Kwadwo Asamoah (Udinese, Italy).

Forwards: Jordan Ayew (Marseille, France), Dominic Adiyiah (Arsenal Kyiv, Ukraine), Ben Acheampong (Kotoko), Emmanuel Clottey (Berekum Chelsea).


This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website.
Learn more