Footage shows that Thomas Lemar handled the ball before Pierre Kalulu, so Atletico Madrid’s penalty against Milan should’ve been revoked by VAR.
It was 1-1 at the 92nd minute when the referee pointed to the spot for a Kalulu handling offence.
While there is some leeway when it comes to handball, there is one very clear rule that means VAR should’ve intervened.
The footage inarguably shows that it is Lemar’s arm that touches the football first, then it strikes Kalulu.
There is no provision for intentionality when it comes to handball for an attacking player leading up to a goal.
VAR looked at the footage and decided not to alert referee Cuneyt Cakir that he had made a mistake.
Luis Suarez converted at the 96th minute to give Atletico Madrid a 2-1 victory at San Siro.