Watch Live Matches

No Ghanaian player among Marc-Vivien Foe award nominees - Andre Ayew, Waris snubbed

Published on: 04 April 2014
Andre Ayew was not included in the list for the Marc Vivien Foe award

Ghana's top stars based in France Andre Ayew and Abdul-Majeed Waris were not included in the ten nominees for the Marc-Vivien Foe Prize as no player from the country made the list.

The list of 10 players from the French Ligue 1 to vie for the 2014 edition of the Marc-Vivien Foe Prize was released on Thursday in Paris despite Ayew and Waris being impressive for their clubs.

The prize is awarded in honour of the former Cameroon international who collapsed and died of heart failure at age 28 in 2003 during the Fifa Confederations Cup in France.

Candidates must be African players in the French first division league known as Ligue 1.

It was initiated in 2009, with Morocco’s Marouane Chamakh winning the maiden edition.

Ivory Coast international Gervinho is the only player to have won it twice, in 2010 and 2011. Another Moroccan Younes Belhanda was named in 2012 while Gabon international Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang won it in 2013.

Nominees for the 2014 edition:

Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia / Toulouse-Monaco)

Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon / Lorient)

Kossi Agassa (Togo / Reims)

Serge Aurier (Ivory Coast / Toulouse)

Henri Bedimo (Cameroon / Lyon)

Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria / Lille)

Salomon Kalou (Ivory Coast / Lille)

Mounir Obbadi (Maroc / Monaco)

Prince Oniangue (Togo / Reims)

Mustapha Yatabare (Mali / Guingamp)

The winner will be announced on 26 June, the death date of Foe, who played as midfielder for French sides Lens, Lyon and Premier League teams West Ham United and Manchester City.


This article has 1 comment(s), give your comment
  • Zeus speelo says:
    April 04, 2014 08:44 am
    Forget about de dead mans gift, we need cups not ................