Watch Live Matches

Past CAF U-17 Nations Cup winners: Mali, Nigeria and Gambia have two titles each

Published on: 29 May 2017
Mamadou Samake of Mali celebrates a goal with teammates during the 2017 Under 17 Africa Cup of Nations Finals match between Ghana and Mali at the Libreville Stadium in Gabon on 28 May 2017 ©Samuel Shivambu/BackpagePix

Mali became the first country to retain the African U17 title after a 1-0 win over Ghana in this year's final in Libreville, Gabon.

Seme Camara scored the only goal from the spot kick in a hotly contested match.

It was the first time a defending champion successfully secured the title and the Aiglonnets joined the rank of countries like Nigeria, Ghana and the Gambia that have won the title twice since the championship was launched in 1995.

Past African U-17 Nations winners:  

1995(Mali):  Ghana  3-1  Nigeria

1997(Botswana): Egypt 1–0 Mali

1999(Guinea):  Ghana 3-1 Burkina Faso

2001(Seychelles):  Nigeria 3–0 Burkina Faso

2003(Swaziland):    Cameroon  1–0 Sierra Leone (aet)

2005(The Gambia):   Gambia  1–0 Ghana

2007(Togo):  Nigeria  1–0  Togo (aet)

2009(Algeria):  Gambia  3–1 Algeria

2011(Rwanda):  Burkina Faso 2–1 Rwanda

2013(Morocco):  Nigeria  1–1 Cote d’Ivoire*

2015(Niger): Mali 2–0 South Africa

*Cote d’Ivoire won 5-4 on penalties


This article has 0 comment(s), give your comment